Sherman Alexie – The Bombest Poet

18 Oct

I recently read Sherman Alexie’s short story, “What You Pawn I Will Redeem” and instantly fell in love! His poems and short stories are all about being an American Indian, living in a America but always feeling like an outsider.

I completely identify with his work as I was born in Paris and I’ve spent almost half my life their, and the other half in Los Angeles. Unfortunately, I still never feel completely at home in either place.. am I more French or American?

Funny thing is when I go to France, I’m considered the American of the family! But, when I’m “home” in L.A., I want so much not to be American. Almost as if saying the word is an insult to my French culture. (I’m in no way saying being American is bad! Just that I have a conflicting relationship with the word itself.)

Anyway,enough about me. Go check out this interview of him on PBS and read his work! It’s the bomb!

Leave a Reply

